Only Software matters

Experiences in software development

Books and Conference talks about SonarQube and Technical Debt

Posted by Patroklos Papapetrou on September 21, 2013


As some of you may already know, I have the chance to be one of the SonarQube ( ex-Sonar ) in Action book authors. All these months, writing this book was a great experience. I got to know many people from our publisher ( Manning Co. ) and learn from the best how to write easy-to-read technical books. 

SonarQube in Action is a couple of weeks before printing and I’d like to grab this opportunity to let you know some of the events that are with one or another way related to this book. 

Starting from this week (24th of September), SonarQube in Action will be the promoted book from Java Ranch . Join the conversation, ask questions to the book authors, and you might be one of the five winners that will be given a free e-book copy.  I’ll be very glad to answer to all your questions about software quality and how SonarQube can make your life easier.

Next stop is Sweden and Oredev conference first week of November. I’ll give a speech about tracking and improving Software Quality with SonarQube and both authors of the book will hold a SonarQube workshop. This one-day course, is the ideal hands-on workshop to learn the core concepts of source code quality and how to eventually adopt continuous inspection in any software development lifecycle, using SonarQube. It is intended to teach developers, testers and software architects how to use this open-source tool to continuously track and improve the quality of their source code. I’m really excited about these two events and I can’t wait to visit Sweden and talk to other developers about software quality.  

At the end of the month, I’ll be visiting for the first time, Riga, to give another talk about SonarQube during Riga Java day event and introduce to the Baltic people the beauty of SonarQube ;-) 

Last but not least, since my first-ever book will hit the shelves in a few days, I’ll started thinking about a new book concept related to technical debt. I decided to use the Leanpub website for a quicker and “leaner” book publishing. Time will show if this is a wise choice.

As you can see, I’m really excited about all these events and I really hope that this is just the beginning.

Don’t forget to follow me at Twitter or connect with me at LinkedIn or subscribe to this blog’s RSS feed.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers

